Residents in Morton will have a choice for mayor when the spring election comes on April 9.

Both Stephen Newhouse and Ronald Rainson will be trying for the position left vacant by current Mayor Norm Durflinger.

Newhouse has served on the village board for six years, and on the Morton Planning Commission for 21 years. He also serves on the board of directors of the Morton Economic Development Council, and previously was on the Morton Comprehensive Plan committee and Tazewell County Comprehensive Plan committee.

He worked at Caterpillar Inc. for 33 years, mostly in marketing, including three-and-a-half years in the United Kingdom.
More information on Newhouse can be found at

Rainson has been a Tazewell County Board member, along with a member of the Tri-County Regional Planning Commission.

He was previously the Chairman and CEO of both Axis Inc. and Environmental Science & Engineering, as well as Vice President of Operations at Central Illinois Light Co. He was also the general manager of the City of Holland, Mich., Board of Public Works.

More information on Rainson can be found at

Also on the village board, incumbent Joe Nohl will be running unopposed for the village clerk position.

Three residents will run unopposed for three four-year term village trustee positions. Two of the residents, Ginger Hermann and Jeffrey Kaufman, will be running for re-election, while Tom Daab will be running for his first term on the board.

Both incumbent Sam Heer and newcomer Maria Abel will be running for the unexpired two-year term village trustee position. The two years were left from when former trustee Tony Huette resigned last year.

School board

Five residents will be trying for three school board seats on April 9.

Tom Neeley and Clint Heinold will be the only candidates running for re-election. Running for their first term on the board is Mike Vlahos, Kelly Scarfe and David Durflinger.

There will be a lottery to determine the order that the candidates will appear on the ballot.

Shaun Bill is also running uncontested for the unincorporated seat.