MORTON — Jeff Hill's first day on the job as the Morton School District superintendent was Saturday.

He's replaced Lindsey Hall, who was superintendent for five years. Hall resigned to become superintendent in the Mahomet-Seymour School District.

Hill was superintendent of Illinois State University's Laboratory Schools. His replacement will be around for only one school year.

Former Heyworth School District Superintendent Ty Wolf became the lab schools' interim superintendent Saturday. He'll serve through June 30, 2018, giving ISU time to find a permanent superintendent.

There are two lab schools — University High School and Thomas Metcalf School. They had a combined K-12 enrollment of about 1,000 this past school year and there are about 125 employees.

Morton has six schools and more than 400 employees. Enrollment was about 3,000 this past school year in the K-12 district.

Hill was an administrator in the lab schools for 12 years. He was the high school principal from 2005 to 2012 and he became superintendent in 2012, the same year Hall was hired in Morton.

He and his family lived in the village of Morton from 1994 to 2000, when he was principal at Tremont High School. He was principal at Olympia High School in Stanford from 2003 to 2005 before going to the lab schools.

His wife Kelli, vice president of continuing education and advancement at Heartland Community College in Normal, was the assistant principal at Morton Junior High School from 1994 to 1997.

Hall was Morton's fifth superintendent since the district was formed in 1971. She was the first woman to hold the job. Mahomet-Seymour, her new employer, also is a K-12 district.

Jeff Hill has a three-year contract in Morton. Hall has a five-year contract in Mahomet-Seymour.

In other Morton School District news:

• Morton Junior High School social studies department chair and American history teacher Ben Wellenreiter received the Master Potter Excellence in Education Award for the 2016-2017 school year. Wellenreiter left Morton at the end of the school year to become a professor of education at ISU. He taught social studies at the junior high school for 19 years.

• Denise Fountain, special education resource teacher at Morton High School, is the inaugural recipient of the Dana Ashby Memorial Service Award. The award is named for the district's director of special education for eight years before she died in December 2015.

• Cody Pullium, resource study hall paraprofessional at Morton High School, received the Potter's Hand Award for support staff.

• Lincoln Elementary School sixth-graders McKenna Gill and Max Sullivan received the school's Ruth Meyers Citizenship Award. Staff members cast votes for the award based on recommendations by sixth-grade teachers. A sixth-grade girl and sixth-grade boy are selected each year.

Steve Stein can be reached at 686-3114 or Follow him on Twitter @SpartanSteve.