Seniors recognized at awards ceremony

Staff Writer
Morton Times-News
The Morton Community Foundation awarded six scholarships at the Honors and Leadership Recognition event at Morton High School on May 6. Pictured from left, are Craig Barley, President MCF Board or Trustees; Taylor Huber, Drew Cousins Memorial Scholarship; Zachary Roley, William E. and Betty L. McCormick Memorial Scholarship; Bridget Carius, Renee Mahrt Memorial Scholarship; Ben Willett, Morton Soccer Scholarship; Jared Brown, Kay Beth Jibben Bane Memorial Scholarship; Scott Witzig, MCF executive director; Colby Spengler, Wayne L. Sampson Scholarship; and Jan Sampson.

Morton High School honors, leadership recognition and scholarship awards ceremony was held May 6.

Department and Extracurricular Awards:

• Business Student of the Year: Zachary Witzig

• MHS English Laureate Award: Sophie Katz

• Modern Language – Outstanding 4 year Spanish Students: Hannah Behle, Rachel Blunier, Alexander DeLong, Shelby Ifft, Sophie Katz, Nicole Koch, Cara Luchtefeld, Jeffrey Rajkumar, David Rhode, Abigail Rodeghiero, David Rossi, Cassie Smock and Joseph Ziemniak

• Award of Excellence in Spanish: Michaela Mirkovich

• Modern Language – Outstanding 4 year French Students: Lauren Blum, Mitchell Lutz, Abigail Neuhauser and Jackson Roach

• Award of Excellence in French: Gayane Nersesyan

• MHS Mathematics Department Distinguished Senior Awards: Matthew Lyons, Gayane Nersesyan, Victoria Moffa and David Rhode

• Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics Awards: Nicholas Austin and Alysse Berry    

• Physical Education Outstanding Students: William Akers and Hannah Grow

• Science Outstanding Student: Victoria Moffa

• Social Studies Outstanding Student: Abbie Fox

Special Awards:

• Air Force Academy Appointment: Turner Holcombe

• NROTC, United States Marine Corps: Jakob Castleman

• Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen: Ashley Calmer

• Hugh O’Brian Youth Foundation Ambassadors: Abbey Johnson and Stephanie Smith

• National Merit Recognized Students: Sophie Katz

• American Legion Good Citizenship Awards: Turner Holcombe and Abbie Fox


• Ike Reardon Memorial Scholarship: Taylor Huber

• Morton American Legion Scholarship: Britianee Griffith

• Morton Sons of the American Legion Scholarship: Joseph Ziemniak

• American Legion Post 318 Agnes Riley Nursing Memorial Scholarship: Kaleigh Anderson

• Roy I. McClellan Scholarship: Matthew Lyons

• Maggi McClellan Nuske Memorial Scholarship: Michaela Mirkovich

• Paige Kahler Memorial Scholarship: Kayla Kniep and Madeline Taylor

• MEA Joe Witzig Scholarship: Cori Schunk

• MHS Drama Award and Scholarship: Emily Kemp

• Ethel Gerber Scholarship: Cori Schunk

• Morton Athletic Boosters: Taylor Huber and Nicole Eigsti

• Renee Mahrt Memorial Scholarship: Bridget Carius

• Wayne L.Sampson Scholarship: Colby Spengler

• Drew Cousins Memorial Scholarship: Taylor Huber

• Kay Beth Jibben Bane Memorial Scholarship: Jared Brown

• Morton Soccer Scholarship: Benjamin Willett

• William E. and Betty L. McCormick Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Roley

• Morton Masonic Lodge: Kevin Rapp, Caleb Seaton and Turner Holcombe

• Morton Rotary Scholarship: Kristin Fehr and Zachary Hoby

• Linda L.Callan Memorial Scholarship: Gayane Nersesyan

• Arnett Community Service Scholarship-Heartland Bank: Kaleigh Anderson

• Jean Ackerman Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Witzig

• Parent Organization Scholarship: Shelby Ifft and Nicole Koch